RSS Feed

Mustn’t Grumble (Yeah, Right)

Posted on

Well, hello there! Hi! Fancy meeting you all here, I didn’t think anybody came to this part of the desert anymore!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Sure, I can start piling on the excuses, but you all know the truth: I’m a lazy slob, and worse, I’m afraid to write stuff that doesn’t look interesting enough. I really don’t know what I have to complain about. Many things have happened since April, mostly good and interesting, with the bags and with the life and the family, but somehow reading about other people’s fights with their kids or about the summer vacation dread seems always more interesting than my own. But man, things are happening!

First of all – my good and trusty ole’ laptop died. Albert the second was 5 years old at the time of his death, which would be like an 80-year-old man in laptop years. I guess he felt there was no more need to keep pulling along once the PhD business was over. Little did poor Albert know how much I relied on him for storing pictures ,  keeping countless bookmarks, mobility around the house (ever tried surfing the net from the bathroom?  Er… no, me neither… ), not to mention he was my big, digital inspiration board. Now my desk is Albert-less, and is being filled instead by Mr. Photographer’s laptop when he comes home from work, to do some more work.

In short, I’ve been reduced to communicating with the world on a regular desktop, surrounded by way too many joysticks, used batteries, pieces of paper with undecipherable writing on them, cables, screwdrivers of various sizes etc. And I don’t even know if any of my pictures are saved on this beast. I’ll have to dig in and look. If not, I’m going to have to make Mr. Photographer take pictures of all the bags, again. Oh, bother!

Well, enough with the whine. Big day today, and there’s lots of interesting stuff to do outside the air-conditioned protection of home. I hope there WILL be another post tomorrow. If not, I deserve to get shot.

About Sophie

Hi! I'm Sophie. Welcome to my blog of fabrications, where I share real goodness, textily and otherwise fabricated. I used to be a biologist who made things. Now I am a maker of things who also knows biology. I hope you like it here, and that you come and visit me again. Feel free to leave me a message! Sophie, from Sophie's Fabrications.

2 responses »

  1. Whoa, yeah, good to see you. It gets lonely out here in the desert, believe me.

    Condolences to you on your loss of Albert. זכותו יגן עלינו–אמן!

    From one lazy slob to another–great to see your post again!

    Reply
  2. hey, you got on the internet. Mission accomplished.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

